Honey Badger

  A little Valentine’s Day link-up survey from From Mrs. to Mama. Here’s a little lovefest courtesy of Tadwell 🙂

Taken Ladies
1. How long have you and your significant other been together?
I’ve been with Trevor for 2.5 years almost to the day.
2. How did you meet? {What’s your “love” story?}
In short. We met on Match.com. If you want all the lovey dovey, doe-eyed details see here, here, and here... Sorry I droned on about how smitten I am (yes, present tense) 🙂
3. If married, how long have you been married?
We’ve been married for almost a year and a half. Still newlyweds, and we still do embarrassing things that my friends who have been married for a while roll their eyes at. When you do things like spend an entire car ride doing this to each other, it must be love….
4. If you are married, where did you get married at? Big or small wedding? 
Our wedding was on the larger size but we both have a lot of family and good friends. We got married at Brookside Gardens in Berthoud, CO and I can’t say enough about how beautiful of a venue and place it is. It was a wonderful day, especially considering it had been cloudy and gross all day, and then literally 25mins before the ceremony, the sun came out, clouds faded away, and it was the perfect evening.

5. Do you have any nick-names that you call one another? Do share!
Mostly I call Trevor honey… but I also through in Honey Badger (because Honey Badgers don’t give a sh*t 🙂 ) or Doodle. Trevor calls me babe, or Bug. There’s that ladybug reference again…. I can’t help it!!
6. Name 3 things you love most about your honey.
 – Trevor is grounded and rational. He thinks through things from both sides and helps me from going off in 50 different directions. He is so calm and mellow and for this wired, energy freak, he makes me settle down.
-The man can make me laugh. I’m a nerd, goofball, and weirdo. And so is he. He makes the best faces, has a similar sense of humor, and knows how to lighten my mood. If you ever need a good laugh, ask Trevor to be a dog interpreter. I swear the man can narrate everything any animal does.
-From day one I saw how motivated and committed Trevor is to the Air Force. After some of the guys I’ve dated, it was a huge turn on to meet a guy that had a career that he was not only committed to but driven to do well at. Do I wish the hours were shorter and he could be home for dinner every night? Yes. But the way he works, how hard he studies, makes me want to find a job that I want to work that hard at.
7. Tell us how he proposed?
Trevor proposed when he was home visiting me in Colorado. We’d been dating for 6 months and new from the 1st month that we were going to get married. He made me spaghetti, laid out candles everywhere, and got down on one knee when I came home from running an errand. I will always remember the look on his face when he asked me to marry him.
8. Is he a flowers and teddy bear kind of guy for v-day, or strawberries, champagne, and rose petals?
Sneaky little fellow, sent me flowers while he’s gone on TDY (i.e. a business trip, military style). He’s really sweet and sends me flowers for my birthday and Valentine’s, and sometimes randomly to say “I love you”. Flowers are a special treat up here, and these roses are stunning 🙂
9. Are you a sunset dinner on the beach kind of girl, or pop a movie in and relax on the couch?
I think we’re more of movie and relax on the couch. I’m a snuggly person, so I like to make Trevor overheat by cuddling up to him 🙂 We’ve got our Apple TV to download movies and after his long work days, its nice to put on pajamas and spend quality time on a Friday night.
10. Tell us one thing you’d like to do with your significant other one day.
Man I have a laundry list of things I’d like to do and see with Trevor. I think I’d really like to go to Napa with him, stay in a B&B and have some delicious wine for a few days. I have a dream to go to The French Laundry and eat a decadent over the top meal together.
11. Tell us what you plan on doing on this Valentine’s Day.
I’m heading to spin class for my Love Spinfest class 🙂 And then I’ll be at my friend’s house enjoying some chocolate and company. The thing about Valentine’s day is, I’ve never spent it with Trevor, and very rarely a boy in general. I love spending Valentine’s day with the girls, it’s all the best things… the girls that make you feel the best, red wine, chocolate, and maybe a chick flick!
12. Are you asking for anything this Valentine’s day?
Mmmm, not really. But we have a standing plan to get a couple’s massage when Trevor returns.
13. Give us one piece of advice of keeping a relationship strong and full of love.
Talk it out, listen to each other, and its ok to not see eye to eye on everything. Trevor and I handle things a lot differently and sometimes you just have to respect how the other person does things. I think every married person will tell you how much work a marriage is, and its true. I always say that when you get married you have a new family member. Family members can fight, get irritated and need time to cool down… but bottom line they are family, you work it out, and you love each other. Trevor is my family, and there will never be a time when he’s not. Work for the love 🙂
14.  Show us a picture of what love means to you.
Happy Valentine’s Day to you all! Enjoy the time with the people you love and take the time to tell them how much you love them!
Leave a Reply

