Online Dating MO

I love reading around the blog world and peeking into the different stages of people’s lives. From people who are in the throes of redoing their house, to having a baby, to becoming healthier, and of course the dating and wedding scene.

Today I was reading Melissa’s blog and I was thrown back into a little nostalgia of my Match.com days. As I’ve said before, I met Trevor on the good ol internet. Technically speaking I paid a bargain price of 60 bucks to paired up with my 6’3″ drink of water. Money well spent.

But I know that just because it worked for me, doesn’t mean it works for everybody. Having horrible dates, creepy dudes messaging you, and maybe not having the right guy pop up isn’t exactly fun. But just like going to the bars, getting set up on blind dates, its kinda like winning the lottery. You win some, you lose some.

So here’s my two cents. If you have a snub factor going for online dating sites, cause “they’re weird” and “I don’t want to meet my spouse over the internet”, I think you should look at as having a cheat sheet to every person’s character and interests in a bar. Essentially online dating allows you to narrow out the people who will a) bore you to tears b) don’t have similar values and c) you don’t have to see them in person to reject them.

Is it really that easy? No. You can still end up on a date with a complete jerk, or not realize who they really are until you meet them. But chose your own pace. I felt most comfortable moving in stages. I’d trade a few emails with a guy and then if there was some witty or interesting banter happening, I’d send my number. That way we can see if their personality is consistent on the phone with their writing skills. Obviously, writing only gets you so far. Unfortunately I’m sure I freaked several guys out with my sarcasm. Apparently its difficult to tell when I’m kidding. Shhorry 🙂 But at least do a little screening… or you could end up on a date with this:

Cat Lady

If they passed the phone test, then it was on to the dating world. This process could take anywhere from a few days to a few weeks depending on how frequently you email or talk. The first guy I went out with, we emailed for a week or so, talked on the phone twice and made a date. I had a heads up of his personality without knowing so much about him that we’re left pushing our food around our plates.

As for my profile, well here it is… Yup, I’m giving you the goods. Judge me!! I dare you! I snagged a hot pilot with it so don’t get to high and mighty on me!

In my own words

for fun:

I love to run! I coached xc and track at Boulder High last year and had a blast hanging out with my team. I absolutely love to cook and obsessively watch the Food Network. I make some mean crab cakes, and my go to item is Chicken Parmesan.

my ethnicity:

Serbian, Croatian, Slovenian, and Irish

my education:

I went to CU, Leeds School of Business. While I grew up in Fort Collins, my entire family is a huge group of Buff graduates. I’ve known the fight song since I was 2. I think if you were a Huskers fan, we’d have serious issues 🙂

favorite hot spots:

Hot spots are anywhere with a nice rooftop or patio to sit outside and relax with some amazing food… as far as locations San Francisco, Hawaii, New Zealand, Barcelona, Switzerland, Paris, and of course Colorado

favorite things:

Grey’s Anatomy, Top Chef, anything on the Food Network, hip hop, rock, country, and Mexican food!! I want to try so many restaurants, anything from burrito stands to big splurge dinners!

last read:

Harry Potter series, Cooking Lite, Shape and Self magazine, mystery novels, Diane Mott Davidson books

my pets:

I love big dogs, not little ones that yip! A cat is ok, not plural, but honestly dogs are 40 times better to me

About my life and what I’m looking for

I just graduated school and already love my job. It’s really important to me to find someone who is motivated career wise and is invested in the career.
I love sports and working out. It would be really great to find someone who I can not only go to games with but run a 5k with.
I love my friends and family and consciously try to work them into my busy schedule. I love to spend time with them, and do nice things to surprise them to show that I’m thinking of them. I think it’s really important to appreciate the people in your life and show them how much they mean to you.
Bottom line for me is that I want someone who makes me laugh, can do something active with, and then be completely comfortable around no matter what we’re doing.

oh and I’m extremely sarcastic, in my family, its honestly a language

 Overall, I would recommend it. I know it’s not for everybody though. Maybe its worth the free trial though! So there is my little soap box opinion. Hope you guys are having a great week!

** Ps. We are on Match.com Success Page

2 thoughts on “Online Dating MO

  1. I really enjoyed reading your outlook on this. Finding someone you love to spend the rest of your life with is an amazing thing to achieve… why judge how someone accomplished it?

Leave a Reply

