Gadget Guru

I must divulge that I have never read the terms and conditions of signing up for something. I have rarely even paged through an instruction manual of any tech device. For some reason trial and error is more my style.

But some things are never meant to be discovered without a little tutoring. Be it through a manual or a Geek Squad member I realize the power of the professional.

In my case my poor little iPhone was struggling to sync with my computer. Had I looked around enough, Apple’s library of help documents would have set me straight but I, like most people wanted a little hand holding.

So while I was in Boulder I wandered into the Apple store, looking like a lost puppy, and begged for a little iPhone guru advice.

They did help me. I simply needed to uninstall and re-install iTunes but the Apple man did something that caught my eye.

Forgive me if I’m a complete idiot and missed the memo, but did you know your iPhone keeps any application you use “open” in the background even after you leave it? In other words when you hit the Home button to exit an app, the phone actually minimizes the application just like it would on your computer??

Well I didn’t!! No one told me! Maybe the manual would but.. But… Stupid manuals!

So here’s what ya do to “close” an app..

When you hit the Home button twice it brings this up:

20110927-152833.jpg
I thought this was a “most recently used” bar, so you could conveniently switch to frequented apps. In reality it is all your open or active apps… Shocking I know.

So my iPhone tutor told me at the end of the day you should always close them out and let your phone start fresh the next day. It helps keep it’s stamina…or something 🙂

All you have to do is hold down your finger on one of the open apps and they’ll start doing their closing dance…

20110927-153213.jpg
Tap those little minus signs and nighty night. Good as new.

I found this thrilling and interesting. Not really… But it’s useful! And I figured if I didn’t know about it, maybe somebody else didn’t. Or maybe I’m alone in my own little world free of manual instructions! Either way my phone is in better spirits!

Did you know this trick? Any other iPhone things I need to know?

How bout any new, awesome apps I need to try??

One thought on “Gadget Guru

Leave a Reply

