Friday Facts

Happy Friday all! I feel like it was a regular old week, nothing too crazy, but good overall! My classes at the gym went well and I was happy to have a new work out gear addition to end the week with….

I ordered a three pack of these Bondi Bands and they are awesome! I trimmed mine down so that it didn’t cover from forehead to ponytail, but they are so light and comfy. Major bonus points because my band didn’t budge during my spin class… and I was a sweaty mess, so it must have been holding on for dear life. Plus who can beat a headband as honest as “Will Run for Wine”. Done and Done.

Also this week I tried my first quinoa dish. I had no idea what to expect texture wise from this… gritty? grainy? soft? chewy?

I was very happy with the end product! Its a slightly nuttier (ha) version of brown rice. No crunchiness, which was what I really expected. Here’s the recipe I used for losing my quinoa virginity:

Quinoa Taco Salad Recipe

Ingredients

  • 1 cup Quinoa
  • 1/2 Red Onion, Chopped
  • 1/2 cup Red Bell Pepper, chopped
  • 2 Tbs taco seasoning
  • 1/2 Zucchini, chopped
  • 15 oz. Black Beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 Tomato, diced
  • 1 Can of yellow corn, drained and rinsed
  • Salt and Pepper, to taste
  • 1/3 cups Cheddar Cheese
  • 1 whole Avocado, diced
  • Sour Cream

DIRECTIONS
Cook the quinoa according to package instructions and add taco seasoning to water.
Meanwhile, swirl a bit of olive oil in a saute pan. Heat oil over medium high heat.
Add onion and saute for 3-5 minutes, until translucent and tender.
Add zucchini, peppers and saute for an additional 2 minutes.

Remove from heat. Stir in the black beans, tomatoes, and corn. Stir in the quinoa.
Season to taste with salt and pepper.
Top each plate with a scoop of the quinoa salad. Top each salad with your choice of cheese, sour cream and diced avocado.

Note: it was excellent even as leftovers!

Finally my week will end with an 8k race tomorrow morning. Trevor and I judged a book by its cover on this one….

I want that Beaver-wearing-a-viking-hat-while-running t-shirt. Gimme. Now!

Have a beautiful, relaxing, mellow, well deserved weekend! See ya Monday!

Leave a Reply

